News from date Tuesday, April 5, 2016 - 10:51

Elections of Governors of New Provinces of the Democratic Republic of Congo

Allies of Democratic Republic of Congo President Joseph Kabila (MP - Presidential Majority) won 14 of 19 provincial governorships decided on Saturday, March 26th, the election commission said, shoring up the president’s local support despite calls to step down this year.

The elections were for interim governors voted into new provinces created in July,2015 as part of a decentralization initiative. The winners will hold the positions until permanent governors are voted in by new provincial assemblies. But the timing for the creation of the new assemblies is unclear – they were initially scheduled for last October but have been delayed.

Corneille Nangaa, president of the National Independent Electoral Commission, said that independent candidates won the other five governorships. Voting in one province (Sud-Ubangi) could not be organized on time and a run-off is required in a second (Nord-Ubangi).